Under AB 1825, training requirements are separate and specific for supervisory and management staff that equal to two hours per two years. Supervisor training also has different modules and focus that help supervisors manage complaints. This also means that all employees statewide must be retrained by January 1, 2022.
Under the DFEH’s regulations, the definition of “employee” includes full-time, part-time, independent contractors, and temporary employees.
As a result, the vast majority of California businesses will be required to provide the training. The bills are expected to be high impact and cost the small business segment substantially, as employees time spent for the training will represent significant cost and most current available classes that comply with the requirements are $40-$60 per person.
Existing law requires the training to include harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation and to include practical examples of such harassment and to be provided by trainers or attorneys with 2+ years of knowledge and expertise in those areas.
The Red Cedar Insurance Agency understands the hardship this is going to place on its clients and the California business community and is offering a FREE webinar to your company so you can better understand the requirements and how you can make sure to stay in compliance. The 15 minutes webinar goes through training requirements and outlines the modules the state requires to be compliant. Then the presenter will be available for 15 minutes of Q&A.
We are going a step further to offer the training to your employees via webinars for FREE for current clients! For current insurance prospects, we are charging only $25 per attendee, $15 per attendee over 50. For all other parties, the cost of the webinar will be $35 per attendee, $25 per attendee over 50.